Contact Us

Virginia Indigent Defense Commission

1604 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 200 Richmond, VA 23229 Phone: (804) 662-7249  |  Fax: (804) 662-7359For Certification Assistance: certification@vadefenders.org

For VIDC Sponsored Trainings: training@vadefenders.org

For all other inquiries: info@vadefenders.org

Office Hours Monday - Friday | 8 AM - 5 PM

Public Defender OfficesCapital Defender Offices

Public Defender Offices

Paul Pepper

Paul Pepper

Alexandria Public Defender

ppepper@vadefenders.org
132 N Royal Street Ste 200
Alexandria, VA, 22314
(703) 746-4477 Phone
(703) 838-6483 Fax

Bradley Haywood

Bradley Haywood

Arlington Public Defender

bhaywood@vadefenders.org
One Courthouse Metro
2200 Wilson Blvd., Suite 510
Arlington, VA, 22201
(703) 875-1111 Phone
(703) 875-0174 Fax

Webster Hogeland

Webster Hogeland

Bedford Public Defender

whogeland@vadefenders.org
202 North Bridge Street
Bedford, VA, 24523
(540) 586-7977 Phone
(540) 586-7990 Fax

Liz Murtagh

Liz Murtagh

Charlottesville Public Defender

EMurtagh@vadefenders.org
403 East Market Street
Charlottesville, VA, 22902
(434) 951-6300 Phone
(434) 951-6444 Fax

Kathleen Ortiz

Kathleen Ortiz

Chesapeake Public Defender

kortiz@vadefenders.org
524 Albemarle Drive Ste 1
Chesapeake, VA, 23322
(757) 382-0098 Phone
(757) 382-0096 Fax

Joseph Schenk

Joseph Schenk

Danville Public Defender

jschenk@vadefenders.org
315 Lynn Street, Suite A
Danville, VA, 24541
(434) 791-5306 Phone
(434) 791-5311 Fax

Dawn Butorac

Dawn Butorac

Fairfax Public Defender

dbutorac@vadefenders.org
4103 Chain Bridge Road Ste 500
Fairfax, VA, 22030
(703) 934-5600 Phone
(703) 934-5160 Fax

Peter Economou

Peter Economou

Franklin Public Defender

peconomou@vadefenders.org
223 N Main Street
Franklin, VA, 23851
(757) 562-0665 Phone
(757) 562-7689 Fax

Allen Bareford

Allen Bareford

Fredericksburg Public Defender

abareford@vadefenders.org
2300 Fall Hill Avenue Ste 300
Fredericksburg, VA, 22401
(540) 899-4814 Phone
(540) 372-3599 Fax

Timothy Coyne

Timothy Coyne

Front Royal (Winchester Satellite) Public Defender

tcoyne@vadefenders.org
1516 N Shenandoah Avenue
Suite A –1st Floor
Front Royal, VA, 22630
(540) 631-1163 Phone
(540) 631-1201 Fax

Buddy Ward

Buddy Ward

Halifax Public Defender

bward@vadefenders.org
2201 Wilborn Avenue
South Boston, VA, 24592
(434) 575-1054 Phone
(434) 575-1069 Fax

Matthew Johnson

Matthew Johnson

Hampton Public Defender

mjohnson@vadefenders.org
85 N. Mallory Street
Hampton, VA, 23663
(757) 727-4744 Phone
(757) 727-4743 Fax

Lorie O’Donnell

Lorie O’Donnell

Leesburg Public Defender

lodonnell@vadefenders.org
201 Loudoun Street SE
Leesburg, VA, 20175
(703) 771-2507 Phone
(703) 771-2517 Fax

Peter Boatner

Peter Boatner

Lexington Public Defender

PBoatner@vadefenders.org
9 East Nelson Street, First Floor
Lexington, VA, 24450
(540) 464-1951 Phone

Sharon Eimer

Sharon Eimer

Lynchburg Public Defender

seimer@vadefenders.org
Bank of the James Building
828 Main Street, Suite 1002
Lynchburg, VA, 24504
(434) 947-2244 Phone
(434) 947-2386 Fax

Sandra Haley

Sandra Haley

Martinsville Public Defender

shaley@vadefenders.org
10 East Main Street (24112)
PO Drawer 31
Martinsville, VA, 24114
(276) 666-2206 Phone
(276) 666-8929 Fax

Edward Webb

Edward Webb

Newport News Public Defender

ewebb@vadefenders.org
2600 Washington Avenue, Ste105
Newport News, VA, 23607
(757) 247-2034 Phone
(757) 247-2065 Fax
(757) 247-8005 Admin Fax

Sherri Carr

Sherri Carr

Norfolk Public Defender

Scarr@vadefenders.org
125 St Paul’s Boulevard, Ste. 600
Norfolk, VA, 23510
(757) 314-2380 Phone
(757) 314-2382 Fax

David Lett

David Lett

Petersburg Public Defender

dlett@vadefenders.org
229 North Sycamore Street
3rd Floor
Petersburg, VA, 23803
(804) 862-6286 Phone
(804) 862-6187 Fax

Brenda Spry

Brenda Spry

Portsmouth Public Defender

bspry@vadefenders.org
One Guardian Court
POB 460
Portsmouth, VA, 23705
(757) 396-6840 Phone
(757) 396-6988 Fax

Lindsay Phipps

Lindsay Phipps

Pulaski Public Defender

lphipps@vadefenders.org
58 N Washington Ave Ste 200
Pulaski, VA, 24301
(540) 994-5008 Phone
(540) 994-5020 Fax

Tracy Paner

Tracy Paner

Richmond Public Defender

tpaner@vadefenders.org
701 E Franklin Street Ste 600
Richmond, VA, 23219
(804) 225-4330 Phone
(804) 371-4908 Fax
Richmond PD Website

John Varney

John Varney

Roanoke Public Defender

jvarney@vadefenders.org
210 First Street SW Ste 420
Roanoke, VA, 24011
(540) 857-7111 Phone
(540) 857-7096 Fax

Peter Boatner

Peter Boatner

Staunton Public Defender

pboatner@vadefenders.org
20 Byers Street
Staunton, VA, 24401
(540) 332-7845 Phone
(540) 332-7847 Fax

James Grandfield

James Grandfield

Suffolk Public Defender

jgrandfield@vadefenders.org
610 West Constance Road
Suffolk, VA, 23434
(757) 925-2489 Phone
(757)925-2492 Fax

Cal Bain

Cal Bain

Virginia Beach Public Defender

cbain@vadefenders.org
2425 George Mason Drive POB 6160
Virginia Beach, VA, 23456
(757) 427-6070 Phone
(757) 427-6151 Fax

Lorie O’Donnell

Lorie O’Donnell

Warrenton Public Defender

lodonnell@vadefenders.org
16 Horner Street
Warrenton, VA, 20186
(540) 347-6390 Phone
(540) 347-6391 Fax

Timothy Coyne

Timothy Coyne

Winchester Public Defender

tcoyne@vadefenders.org
117 East Piccadilly Street Ste 300
Winchester, VA, 22601
(540) 722-3450 Phone
(540) 722-7555 Fax


Capital Defender Offices

Richard W. Johnson Jr.

Richard W. Johnson Jr.

Capital Defender (Central)

rjohnson@vadefenders.org
1602 Rolling Hills Drive Ste 212
Richmond, VA, 23229
(804) 662-7166 Phone
(804) 662-7172 Fax

Daniel Goldman

Daniel Goldman

Capital Defender (North)

dgoldman@vadefenders.org
8245 Boone Blvd. Suite 210
Vienna, VA, 22182
(703) 875-0103 Phone
(703) 875-0115 Fax
(866) 531-3072 Toll Free

Jennifer Stanton

Jennifer Stanton

Capital Defender (Southeast)

jstanton@vadefenders.org
207 Granby Street Ste 200
Norfolk, VA, 23510
(757) 314-2354 Phone
(757) 314-2352 Fax

Steve Milani

Steve Milani

Capital Defender (Western)

smilani@vadefenders.org
3021 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, VA, 24019
(540) 562-3595 Phone
(540) 562-3599 Fax
(866) 847-3168 Toll Free