Contact Us

Virginia Indigent Defense Commission

1604 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 200
Richmond, VA 23229
Phone: (804) 662-7249  |  Fax: (804) 662-7359

For Certification Assistance: certification@adm.idc.virginia.gov

For VIDC Sponsored Trainings: training@adm.idc.virginia.gov

For all other inquiries: info@vadefenders.org

Office Hours
Monday - Friday | 8 AM - 5 PM

Public Defender OfficesCapital Defender Offices

Public Defender Offices

Melinda Douglas

Melinda Douglas

Alexandria Public Defender

mdouglas@ale.idc.virginia.gov
132 N Royal Street Ste 200
Alexandria, VA, 22314
(703) 746-4477 Phone
(703) 838-6483 Fax

Bradley Haywood

Bradley Haywood

Arlington Public Defender

bhaywood@arl.idc.virginia.gov
One Courthouse Metro
2200 Wilson Blvd., Suite 510
Arlington, VA, 22201
(703) 875-1111 Phone
(703) 875-0174 Fax

Webster Hogeland

Webster Hogeland

Bedford Public Defender

whogeland@bed.idc.virginia.gov
202 North Bridge Street
Bedford, VA, 24523
(540) 586-7977 Phone
(540) 586-7990 Fax

Liz Murtagh

Liz Murtagh

Charlottesville Public Defender

EMurtagh@cha.idc.virginia.gov
403 East Market Street
Charlottesville, VA, 22902
(434) 951-6300 Phone
(434) 951-6444 Fax

Kathleen Ortiz

Kathleen Ortiz

Chesapeake Public Defender

kortiz@che.idc.virginia.gov
524 Albemarle Drive Ste 1
Chesapeake, VA, 23322
(757) 382-0098 Phone
(757) 382-0096 Fax

Joseph Schenk

Joseph Schenk

Danville Public Defender

jschenk@dan.idc.virginia.gov
315 Lynn Street, Suite A
Danville, VA, 24541
(434) 791-5306 Phone
(434) 791-5311 Fax

Dawn Butorac

Dawn Butorac

Fairfax Public Defender

dbutorac@fai.idc.virginia.gov
4103 Chain Bridge Road Ste 500
Fairfax, VA, 22030
(703) 934-5600 Phone
(703) 934-5160 Fax

Peter Economou

Peter Economou

Franklin Public Defender

peconomou@fra.idc.virginia.go
223 N Main Street
Franklin, VA, 23851
(757) 562-0665 Phone
(757) 562-7689 Fax

Allen Bareford

Allen Bareford

Fredericksburg Public Defender

abareford@fre.idc.virginia.gov
2300 Fall Hill Avenue Ste 300
Fredericksburg, VA, 22401
(540) 899-4814 Phone
(540) 372-3599 Fax

Timothy Coyne

Timothy Coyne

Front Royal (Winchester Satellite) Public Defender

tcoyne@win.idc.virginia.gov
1516 N Shenandoah Avenue
Suite A –1st Floor
Front Royal, VA, 22630
(540) 631-1163 Phone
(540) 631-1201 Fax

Buddy Ward

Buddy Ward

Halifax Public Defender

bward@hal.idc.virginia.gov
2201 Wilborn Avenue
South Boston, VA, 24592
(434) 575-1054 Phone
(434) 575-1069 Fax

Rebecca Robinson

Rebecca Robinson

Hampton Public Defender

rrobinson@ham.idc.virginia.gov
85 N. Mallory Street
Hampton, VA, 23663
(757) 727-4744 Phone
(757) 727-4743 Fax

Lorie O’Donnell

Lorie O’Donnell

Leesburg Public Defender

lodonnell@lee.idc.virginia.gov
3 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA, 20176
(703) 771-2507 Phone
(703) 771-2517 Fax

Peter Boatner

Peter Boatner

Lexington Public Defender

PBoatner@sta.idc.virginia.gov
9 East Nelson Street, First Floor
Lexington, VA, 24450
(540) 464-1951 Phone

Sharon Eimer

Sharon Eimer

Lynchburg Public Defender

seimer@lyn.idc.virginia.gov
Bank of the James Building
828 Main Street, Suite 1002
Lynchburg, VA, 24504
(434) 947-2244 Phone
(434) 947-2386 Fax

Sandra Haley

Sandra Haley

Martinsville Public Defender

shaley@mar.idc.virginia.gov
10 East Main Street (24112)
PO Drawer 31
Martinsville, VA, 24114
(276) 666-2206 Phone
(276) 666-8929 Fax

Edward Webb

Edward Webb

Newport News Public Defender

ewebb@new.idc.virginia.gov
2600 Washington Avenue, Ste105
Newport News, VA, 23607
(757) 247-2034 Phone
(757) 247-2065 Fax
(757) 247-8005 Admin Fax

Sherri Carr

Sherri Carr

Norfolk Public Defender

Scarr@nor.idc.virginia.gov
125 St Paul’s Boulevard, Ste. 600
Norfolk, VA, 23510
(757) 314-2380 Phone
(757) 314-2382 Fax

David Lett

David Lett

Petersburg Public Defender

dlett@pet.idc.virginia.gov
229 North Sycamore Street
3rd Floor
Petersburg, VA, 23803
(804) 862-6286 Phone
(804) 862-6187 Fax

Brenda Spry

Brenda Spry

Portsmouth Public Defender

bspry@por.idc.virginia.gov
One Guardian Court
POB 460
Portsmouth, VA, 23705
(757) 396-6840 Phone
(757) 396-6988 Fax

Lindsay Phipps

Lindsay Phipps

Pulaski Public Defender

lphipps@pul.idc.virginia.gov
58 N Washington Ave Ste 200
Pulaski, VA, 24301
(540) 994-5008 Phone
(540) 994-5020 Fax

Tracy Paner

Tracy Paner

Richmond Public Defender

tpaner@ric.idc.virginia.gov
701 E Franklin Street Ste 600
Richmond, VA, 23219
(804) 225-4330 Phone
(804) 371-4908 Fax

John Varney

John Varney

Roanoke Public Defender

jvarney@roa.idc.virginia.gov
210 First Street SW Ste 420
Roanoke, VA, 24011
(540) 857-7111 Phone
(540) 857-7096 Fax

Peter Boatner

Peter Boatner

Staunton Public Defender

pboatner@sta.idc.virginia.gov
20 Byers Street
Staunton, VA, 24401
(540) 332-7845 Phone
(540) 332-7847 Fax

James Grandfield

James Grandfield

Suffolk Public Defender

jgrandfield@suf.idc.virginia.gov
610 West Constance Road
Suffolk, VA, 23434
(757) 925-2489 Phone
(757)925-2492 Fax

Cal Bain

Cal Bain

Virginia Beach Public Defender

cbain@vir.idc.virginia.gov
2425 George Mason Drive POB 6160
Virginia Beach, VA, 23456
(757) 427-6070 Phone
(757) 427-6151 Fax

Lorie O’Donnell

Lorie O’Donnell

Warrenton Public Defender

lodonnell@lee.idc.virginia.gov
16 Horner Street
Warrenton, VA, 20186
(540) 347-6390 Phone
(540) 347-6391 Fax

Timothy Coyne

Timothy Coyne

Winchester Public Defender

tcoyne@win.idc.virginia.gov
117 East Piccadilly Street Ste 300
Winchester, VA, 22601
(540) 722-3450 Phone
(540) 722-7555 Fax


Capital Defender Offices

Doug Ramseur

Doug Ramseur

Capital Defender (Central)

dramseur@cdc.idc.virginia.gov
1602 Rolling Hills Drive Ste 212
Richmond, VA, 23229
(804) 662-7166 Phone
(804) 662-7172 Fax

Daniel Goldman

Daniel Goldman

Capital Defender (North)

dgoldman@cdn.idc.virginia.gov
8245 Boone Blvd. Suite 210
Vienna, VA, 22182
(703) 875-0103 Phone
(703) 875-0115 Fax
(866) 531-3072 Toll Free

Jennifer Stanton

Jennifer Stanton

Capital Defender (Southeast)

jstanton@cde.idc.virginia.gov
207 Granby Street Ste 200
Norfolk, VA, 23510
(757) 314-2354 Phone
(757) 314-2352 Fax

Steve Milani

Steve Milani

Capital Defender (Western)

smilani@cdw.idc.virginia.gov
3021 Peters Creek Road
Roanoke, VA, 24019
(540) 562-3595 Phone
(540) 562-3599 Fax
(866) 847-3168 Toll Free