Commission Members

Membership of the Virginia Indigent Defense Commission is established by Virginia code § 19.2-163.02.

The Virginia Indigent Defense Commission was established in 2004 replacing the original Public Defender Commission. This change was made after a number of studies on indigent defense in Virginia. Of the many changes that were made, the two most significant were the creation of the standard of practice for court-appointed counsel and the requirement that anyone representing someone in a court-appointed case undergo training and be certified.


Current Members & Appointing Authorities

Carolyn Grady | Virginia State Bar, Chair of VIDC

Steven D. BenjaminSenate Committee On Rules
Nicholas BraswellGovernor
Henry ChambersGovernor
Senator R. Creigh Deeds | Statute, Senate Judiciary Chair Designee
John G. DouglassVirginia State Bar
Artisha Gregg | Senate Committee On Rules
Karl R. HadeStatute/Exec Sec Supreme Court
Delegate Charniele Herring | Statute, House of Delegates Court of Justice Chair
Kristen HowardVirginia Crime Commission Designee
Guy W. Horsley, Jr. | Speaker of the House
Christie Leary | Speaker of the House
Manuel E. LeivaSenate Committee On Rules
LaRana OwensSpeaker of the House